USA WNBA National Basketball Sports Teams

National Basketball


The Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA) is a women's professional basketball league in the United States. It currently is composed of twelve teams. The league was founded in 1996 as the women's counterpart to the NBA. League play started in 1997; the regular season is played from May to August with the playoffs starting in mid-August and running into September.

Many WNBA teams have NBA counterparts and play in the same arena. The Connecticut Sun, the Seattle Storm, and the unnamed Tulsa franchise are the only current teams to play without sharing the market with an NBA team (although the Storm shared a market with the Seattle SuperSonics before that team's controversial relocation). In addition to those three teams, the Chicago Sky is the only other team that does not share an arena with an NBA counterpart. The Atlanta Dream, Chicago Sky, Connecticut Sun, Los Angeles Sparks, Phoenix Mercury, Seattle Storm, Tulsa franchise and the Washington Mystics are independently owned. This independent ownership is important to the WNBA's growth; at one time, all teams in the league were owned by the NBA.

Professional WNBA Basketball Teams

Charlotte Sting Team Logo Charlotte Sting (WNBA) - Charlotte
Cleveland Rockers Team Logo Cleveland Rockers (WNBA) - Cleveland
Detroit Shock Team Logo Detroit Shock (WNBA) - Detroit
Houston Comets Team Logo Houston Comets (WNBA) - Houston
Indiana Fever Team Logo Indiana Fever (WNBA) - Indianapolis
Shop for Indiana Fever Fan Gear
LA Sparks Team Logo LA Sparks (WNBA) Website - Los Angeles
Miami Sol Team Logo Miami Sol (WNBA) Website - Miami
Minnesota Lynx Team Logo Minnesota Lynx (WNBA) - Minneapolis
New York Liberty Team Logo New York Liberty (WNBA) - New York City
Orlando Miracle Team Logo Orlando Miracle (WNBA) Website - Orlando
Phoenix Mercury Team Logo Phoenix Mercury (WNBA) - Phoenix
Portland Fire Team Logo Portland Fire (WNBA) - Portland
Sacramento Monarchs Team Logo Sacramento Monarchs (WNBA) Website - Sacramento
Seattle Storm Team Logo Seattle Storm (WNBA) - Seattle
Utah Starzz Team Logo Utah Starzz (WNBA) - Salt Lake City
Shop for Utah Starzz Merchandise
Washington Mystics (WNBA) - District of Columbia
Shop All WNBA Fan Gear