USA AFL Arena Football League

Arena Football

Arena League Football

The Arena Football League (AFL) was founded in 1987 as an indoor American football league by Jim Foster. It was played indoors on a smaller field than American football, resulting in a faster-paced and higher-scoring game. The sport was invented in the early 1980s and patented by Foster, a former executive of the United States Football League and the National Football League.

The AFL would play 22 seasons from 1987 to 2008 before large debts forced the league to suspend operations in search of a more profitable business model. In December 2008 the league's owners canceled the 2009 season to begin work on developing a long-term plan to improve its economic model.

Unable to agree upon a viable economic plan for the future of the league, the AFL suspended operations indefinitely on August 4, 2009, with Chapter 7 bankruptcy liquidation likely. On September 28, 2009, the Arena Football 1 league was formed, containing multiple former AFL and af2 teams including the Orlando Predators Cleveland Gladiators, Utah Blaze and the Arizona Rattlers, as well as a possibility for the Tampa Bay Storm and San Jose Sabercats to join by October 9, 2009. Additionally, new teams were formed in former AFL markets Salt Lake City and Chicago.

Arizona Rattlers Team Logo Arizona Rattlers (AFL) - Phoenix
Carolina Cobras Team Logo Carolina Cobras (AFL) - Durham
Columbus Destroyers Team Logo Columbus Destroyers (AFL) - Buffalo
Detroit Fury Team Logo Detroit Fury (AFL) - Detroit
Florida Bobcats Team Logo Florida Bobcats (AFL) Website - Plantation
Grand Rapids Rampage Team Logo Grand Rapids Rampage (AFL) - Grand Rapids
Houston ThunderBears Team Logo Houston ThunderBears (AFL) - Houston
Indiana Firebirds Team Logo Indiana Firebirds (AFL) - Indianapolis
Iowa Barnstormers Team Logo Iowa Barnstormers (AFL) - Des Moines
Milwaukee Iron (AFL)
  Milwaukee Mustangs (AFL) - Milwaukee The Milwaukee Mustangs were an Arena Football League team. They played from 1994 to 2001, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin's Bradley Center.
Nashville Kats Team Logo Nashville Kats (AFL) - Nashville
Purchase New England Seawolves Merchandise
The New England Sea Wolves were in Hartford for two seasons, and were coached by Mike Hohensee, the former Albany Firebirds coach who has been the head coach of the Chicago Rush since that team's inception in 2001. New England Seawolves (AFL) - Hartford
New York Dragons Team Logo New York Dragons (AFL) - Long Island
Oklahoma Wranglers Team logo Oklahoma Wranglers (AFL) - Oklahoma City
Orlando Predators Team Logo Orlando Predators (AFL) Website - Orlando
  Portland Forest Dragons (AFL) - Portland
Portland Forest Dragons (1997-1999)- After a winless 1996 season, the team relocated to Portland, Oregon where they played for three seasons. In years of 1997, 1998, and 1999, the Forest Dragons complied records of 2-12, 4-10, and 7-7, never making the playoffs while in Portland. During the 1998 season the team featured receiver Oronde Gadsden, who won the league's Rookie Of The Year award, and went on to sign with the NFL's Miami Dolphins.
San Jose SaberCats Team Logo San Jose SaberCats (AFL) Website - San Jose
Tampa Bay Storm Team Logo Tampa Bay Storm (AFL) Website - Tampa Bay
Washington Mystics (WNBA) - District of Columbia
Arena Football League Merchandise Amazon